Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The Russians came.

Friday, Feb. 9, 2007
10:52 p.m.
Yes, I know, I go out entirely too much but, as I was explaining to a friend today, it is the nature of the profession I’m in. Tonight it was a concert of Russian music performed by my friend Vlad (on piano and singing) and a violinist and another pianist. They played piano duets, violin and piano pieces, and songs, and of course there was one composition for all of them together. I have to say that it was for the most part an enjoyable concert, albeit a bit long, but the violinist (who teaches for us and with whom I’ve played many times in our new music ensemble) is really very fine.

The one fly in the ointment was Vlad’s singing. I wish she wouldn’t, but of course no one is about to tell her to desist. She has one of those “nymphs and shepherds” quavers (I blame it on inconsistent and insufficient support) and the ends of her phrases just die. Her voice is all one colour for the most part, and when she did drop into the lower register, it wasn’t a nice sound. It really bothers me to hear her perform, and it bothers me even more that she is teaching singing with this faulty technique of her own. Her student Ed (who sat with me during the first half as Hubby arrived late, having been to the hairdresser for a trim) exemplifies all the things that are wrong with her own singing; and at the moment there is absolutely nothing I can do about it.

However, that wasn’t the most exciting thing to happen today. Two of my friends in the department, of the younger set of my friends, had a slider eating contest at the Captain. You are probably wondering what a slider is. First of all, let me say that it is not on the menu; in order to order it, you have to have inside knowledge. It consists of bacon and poutine in a pita, poutine being the Quebec version of what many Americans call “cheesy chips”: French fries, cheese curds and gravy. Yes, it is gross. Well, the two young men in question arranged that the loser would pay a forfeit: the bearded one must shave or the clean-shaven one must grow a beard. The bearded one lost, and so on Monday he will arrive at the university with his chin clean, and then the next day his moustache will be gone as well. They were both working the concert tonight, and the winner still looked rather green around the gills. Silly boys.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>