Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

My son, the doctor!

Friday, Dec. 9, 2005
4:23 p.m.
I guess this will be today�s �real� entry. Skip back one to see my answers to the most recent meme going around.

I spent a good deal of time working on my Latin assignment, putting together a very good page on gerunds. I still have infinitives, the supine and deponent verbs to go, and considering the due date was today, I should be in a veritable panic. But I called Patsy to find out when she was going to be in her office so I could hand it in, and she admitted she wasn�t planning to be back at the university until Monday, so I may as well wait until then. I breathed a sotto voce sigh of relief and said, sure, that was great. See you then. Phew!

Little Princess and I did go to the university briefly so that she could be at her one violin student�s jury (she�s been teaching for the college for a year and-a-half�I told her having taken all those years of violin lessons would come in handy some day) and so I could mail a letter and get a spider solitaire fix. We then proceeded to the bank where I deposited a cheque and she filled in an application for a student credit card (which will allow her to shop online without using my paypal account or credit card), then on to the Provigo where I bought some Lindor truffles and she some rolling papers (don�t ask), then the pharmacy for birth control pills for her and Fisherman�s Friends for me (there seems to be a trend developing here), then across the street to the Java where she ordered a caf�-mocha and I a chai tea, with oatmeal-chocolate chip cookies for both of us. That was fun. I had the sun in my eyes, and watched the zodiacal light reach up from the clouds.

When we�d finished our collation, I suggested we head to the back of the building where there was a computer store I�d never before visited, but Hubby had suggested might have the answer to my keyboard adaptation problem. We entered a basement full of computers and related paraphernalia where four young men were discussing the tools of their trade. I looked around and said, �So, is this geek central?� One of the guys said, �Yep, this would be the place.� They didn�t have what I wanted there, but one of them, the cross-eyed one, found the exact object I needed on eBay. I took the number down and bought it as soon as I got home, after first calling the company that makes it to determine that this was precisely the thing I needed. I think the money is well spent if it�ll prevent tendonitis down the road.

We met a fellow choir member/drama student while we were crossing the street, and she told us that she had been at the Shalimar where Drs. M & M had been celebrating the passing of his Ph.D. defence yesterday. Hurrah! This means he�ll probably be back in the choir in January, and thank the gourd, we really need a good tenor.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>