Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I have Bourne enough!

Friday, Dec. 10, 2004
12:48 a.m.
I have read one R0bert LudIum novel in my life, deciding then and there that one was enough. However, tonight, at the insistence of the man to whom I pledged my troth, I sat through both The B0urne Identity and The B0urne Supremacy, films I would never have sought out on my own and certainly not watched back to back. They were okay, if you like car chases and people getting shot, neither of which I am terribly fond of unless the former is riotously funny and the latter happens offscreen where I can�t see it. Matt Dam0n is a good actor; I�ll hand him that.

Apart from that, I accomplished much today, spending time with my daughter and money at the mall. We girls went shopping. As I have mentioned before (I would post the links but they seem to be too much effort right now to hunt up; you�ll just have to take my word for it), I despise shopping. The only time I enjoy it is when I am with Little Princess because she�s a great shopping companion. I seriously do not recall enjoying shopping with my own mother. I guess our tastes were just too divergent.

Anyway, Little Princess and I headed out to the mall a little later than I had hoped or dreamed, arriving around 11:00. I dropped of a pair of shoes at the shoemaker for reheeling, purchased a few items at the pharmacy (more on that later) and then we meandered through the various emporia marvelling at all the merchandise available for our consumption. We first went to Sim0n�s, a wonderful Quebec clothing store which supplies the best socks and stockings anywhere. For myself I got a pair of black and gray argyle tights, and for my daughter I purchased purple leg warmers and horizontally striped tights, which I had the lady gift box so that she can get them on Brumalia morning. This is a standing joke between us. Then we went across the way to Le Ch�teau where I bought a dress for moi m�me, something I really didn�t need, but it looked so good and it�s purple!

By this time I was getting rather peckish (starving is more like it) and so we started toward the food court, letting ourselves get distracted along the way by this, that, and the other. At HMV Little Princess bought both KiII BiII flicks on DVD, and later arranged with her brother that he would pay her back for one, and they would be their respective presents for Dad. At The Bay Little Princess found a black fedora in the men�s department that looked fantastic on her, so I bought it, and it too will end up under the tree. I really ought to get her something she�s not expecting, but I can always leave that up to Hubby.

Lunch was spring rolls, rice and veggies at the Japanese food counter, as well as jasmine tea and fortune cookies from the Chinese food counter (my fortune was �It is a good time to make new friends�) after which we drove to Costco where I bought more fun stuff, and we gorged ourselves on free samples. Seriously, man. We got home, put the food away, I got a negative result on my pregnancy test, and had a brief rest before heading out for my dress rehearsal for tomorrow night�s concert.

What? you say. Pregnancy test? Well, yes, it�s like this. For the whole month of November I went without a single PMS symptom. This is highly irregular. On November 30 (you men may want to turn on the sports network at this juncture) a quantity of blood suddenly left my body in the usual way, and then promptly stopped. I wore a pad for three days and it collected�nothing. The last time something like this happened to me, I was pregnant with Buddy Boy. Then, without consulting me, my breasts began aching like nobody�s business and I started to get worried. After all, some friends of mine had been talking about this 57-year-old woman who carried twins to term. Also, I have had my tubes tied and was told that should I get pregnant, it would likely be ectopic in nature and would have to be terminated or I would, simply put, die. Even in the event I were pregnant at the tender age of almost 48 and it was a normal uterine event with a successful delivery, do I really want to go through all that again when life was just starting to open up for me? No! So, just to make sure, I bought a $10 pregnancy test and used it and the result was negative. Phew! This does not change the fact that I am on the threshhold of menopause and really should see my doctor. But at least now the sense of urgency is not so great. It takes forever to get an appointment as it is.

The rehearsal went well, supper followed, and the evening was spent watching movies. And that, my friends, is that.

P.S. The Channukah candles did actually get lit tonight. I have no idea when I�ll have time to make potato latkes, though.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>