Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Talk about a boring entry!

Saturday, Aug. 9, 2008
10:48 p.m.
I accompanied Hubby to a gig yesterday. I didn’t want to, but neither of the kids wanted to go and it was in a town over an hour’s drive away, so I did the good wifely thing and went with him. He was playing a jazz concert with a keyboard player who normally plays at a bistro in this little town at the foot of a ski hill, but the bistro didn’t renew its license so for the summer he moved the concerts into the sanctuary of a local church.

It’s a really old wooden building dating from the late 1800’s that doubles as a Methodist and United church. I noticed as soon as I walked in the Cassavant organ at the front. The pianist had hired a girl drummer to gig with them who drove from Montreal. She was really good. The three of them really got a groove going and made some very fine music. I say this in all sincerity, even though I dozed off during their first set.

We drove there through about a dozen different weather systems. It was wild. At one point the sky looked like we were about to have a hurricane, at another there was a beautiful blue opening bathing us in golden light. On the way back I thought the rain coming down looked and sounded rather strange, so I stuck my hand out the window only to have it struck by tiny ice pellets. Talk about crazy weather.

After the concert, we were invited over to the apartment of the girlfriend of the pianist for a beer. It was a brand I detest, so I desisted. Unfortunately, our hostess is a possessor of cats, two adults and six kittens, and my throat started gumming up with mucous. I was happy to get out of there.

On the way back we somehow got off the road we were supposed to be taking and had to make a detour to another ski town to get back on the main highway. It cost us perhaps 10 kilometres.

Today I did a load of wash and started to hang it out, only to bring it back in as it started raining. Half got dried in the dryer, then the rest ended up on the line after all as the sun came out and it turned out to be a gorgeous afternoon.

Hubby, Buddy Boy and I watched a beautiful film this evening: Neverwas. I recommend it. It was lovely.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>