Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Knitting, purling and cursing

Tuesday, Sept. 8, 2009
7:50 p.m.
What did I do on my Labour Day weekend? I laboured. Hubby has to have the score for the TSO piece submitted by mid-September, and we are both working away at it, he with the composition, I with the transcription. I curse him intermittently when I get to the aleatoric sections, and he refrains from cursing me because, well, I’m perfect. Sort of.

We are still trying to work out the March break deal. The producer for the opera now says they really only need him there for March 7 and 8 as they have the pit players booked then, and we have to be in T.O. for the premiere of the orchestra piece the weekend before, which means we could ostensibly have a five-day holiday somewhere warm. It seems rather weak, that, but it would be better than nothing.

He is incredibly, strongly averse to me going off somewhere on my own. According to him, married couples take their holidays together, and if one can’t go, the other doesn’t go without him. I can see his reasoning, but this is my March break, too, and I feel it’s wrong for me to be cheated out of the opportunity to go somewhere warm just because he can’t join me. It also means that there is no way I will be able to take a trip by myself in addition as one of you lovely people suggested earlier.

In other news, I finally sewed in the ends and blocked a scarf I made from an absolutely beautiful skein of yarn I bought last May in T.O. when I was visiting my daughter. I started it the night Kathy was visiting and worked on it off and on for several weeks. Here it is, in progress and finished.

DSC05080

DSC05219

DSC05221

The flash makes it look pinker, but it brings out the beautiful sheen. The yarn is 50% silk/50% bamboo, and it was absolutely lovely to work with.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>