Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Feeling stupid in leather pantsland

Tuesday, Nov. 9, 2004
12:00 p.m.
Little Princess has been writing a paper on Red Maples (acer rubrum) in the J0hnville B0g and as a result I have not been able to get at the computer to update my diary when I want to. So I am doing it at work.

I did a very bad thing and I am very upset about it even though Hubby assures me it is not the end of the world. On Sunday I missed a big-ass rehearsal that Jamie had planned with the choir, whereat we were supposed to go over the part of the Fanshawe where I have a solo and nothing in the score actually lines up. We discussed this at lunch on Thursday, and I was looking forward to it and everything. However, the new music ensemble also had a big-ass rehearsal on Saturday, as you will recall, and the Riley sits in a rather uncomfortable part of my range and I find it very fatiguing. As a result, on Sunday I did not really have much of a singing voice, although my rhetorical skills were undaunted. The solo does soar up to a high A, which I did not have, at all.

At 6:30 yesterday morning I suddenly woke up realizing that I hadn�t told Jamie I wouldn�t be there. I ran upstairs, fired up the computer and dashed off an email explaining my absence. I felt so stupid! And I have been agonizing about it ever since. I spoke to one of Little Princess� friends who is in choir just now and he told me that Jamie was not mad and they certainly had enough to rehearse without going over that particular section.

Buddy Boy stayed home yesterday with a sore throat which had not improved much, but which he nonetheless took with him to school this morning. I dosed him with extra-strength acetamin0phen and gave him a couple more in his lunch box should he need it, and I hope he fares well. Watching television with him last night (the C0medy Netw0rk is good when you don�t want to think) I experienced terrible sneezing and congestion myself, and popped two echinacea capsules and a Ne0-citran before heading off to an early bedtime. This morning I am fine, but a little scratchy from all the sneezing. The last thing I need now is to get sick.

I�m back at work copying Hubby�s symphony. I started a new section with a lot of aleatoric music, meaning that I have to replace noteheads with symbols (arrows, exes, squares, etc.) and put them in boxes. This is very time consuming. He also has the harpist doing some extended technique, where she places the chromatic pedal halfway between natural and flat, and the notation requires that I have four notes (two flat, two natural) on two stems connected at an angle to one stem with the appropriate flag. That took a while. It�s very nit-picky work and I find it takes me a long time to do.

I baked the uncarved pumpkin as well, cutting it in half longitudinally, scooping out the seeds and guck (yum, more roasted seeds!) and putting the two halves face down on a large baking sheet in the oven. Jack o�lantern pumpkins are very watery. I saved the runoff and froze it (I have no idea what I�ll use it for) and cut up some of the flesh, adding butter, salt and pepper, and baking it in a casserole for supper. The rest I froze in plastic bags. Unfortunately its flavour is extremely subtle. I will have to think of exciting ways to use this vegetable.

I�m headed off to practise in a few minutes. I just hope I can actually sing today. I�m trying to garner interest in Friday night�s concert. Mostly the attraction is seeing Dr. Hubby playing electric guitar in his black leather pants. That�ll bring out a crowd, anyway.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>