Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

There�s no place like home.

Wednesday, June 8, 2005
10:42 p.m.
We arrived home around 7:30 p.m., an hour and-a-half later than we�d hoped or dreamed because we ended up sitting in Montreal rush-hour traffic all that extra time.

Hubby woke up with a sore throat on Monday morning, a legacy from his brother who was recovering from a cold when we arrived on Friday. We bid our fond farewells to his sister-in-law and the dog, had a very pleasant visit with his parents and younger brother for lunch before heading off to the bustling metropolis of Toronto (after which the city of Metropolis in the original Superman comic books was modeled) where we arrived at my ancestral home and were greeted by my mother and older brother. We drove over to the synagogue whereat his paintings were hanging with my mother�s cousin Ed, oohed and ahhed appreciatively, then returned home where my mom prepared a pretty tasty supper.

The next day Hubby and I took them out for Chinese lunch (I figured hot and sour soup would do him more good than acetaminophen), which proved to be more food than we could consume at one sitting, so we ended up taking the leftovers home and polishing them off for supper, after which we adjourned to the Montreal Bistro, a restaurant and jazz club, where we saw a fantastic show featuring this vibraphone virtuoso along with a whole raft of incredible jazz musicians, including this award winning jazz bassist. It was super. We stayed for both sets, nursing our beers, enjoying it to the max.

It�s been an unbelievably hectic and socially active few days and I am very happy to be home and looking forward to sleeping in my own bed tonight. Thanks for all your notes and well wishes. Apart from the traffic, it was a very fine trip. Hopefully tomorrow I will be more awake and can dwell on certain highlights a bit longer, but for now I�m bushed.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>