Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Yes! We have no dishwasher!

Friday, Jan. 8, 2010
8:11 p.m.
Recently I have been writing the same email over and over, with minor variations, trying to find volunteer help for my mother. The only positive thing that has come out of it so far is that I am now armed with a new phrase to feed into search engines: “friendly visiting.” It was also suggested to me that a private girls’ school in the city of my birth has a volunteer programme for its students, and I should inquire as to whether or not someone might be interested in visiting my mother in that capacity.

Today my mother told me I shouldn’t feel guilty or bad for her, since I was doing what I could and she would survive nonetheless. It doesn’t really make a difference, though. She is still unhappy, and all my efforts have thus far yielded no fruit. The Filipino woman my brother engaged is still visiting her, and that seems to be working out quite well, but she needs more than that. Life is totally unfair.

In the meantime, we remain without a working dishwasher. Today, instead of washing dishes as supper cooked, I left everything for Hubby, including the bowl from breadmaking, so that he would see that there are more dishes being dirtied than he previously thought. So far he is unmoved. If I really insisted, we would get a new one.

My biggest peeve is the dishes being piled up on the counter during the day. At least with a dishwasher, there’s somewhere to put them. Bah.

In other news, we have run out of food in the house and will have to shovel the driveway, yet again, before we can go grocery shopping. I want to run away to Cuba or somewhere else warm. Humbug.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>