Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I’m just mad about saffron...

Monday, Jan. 8, 2007
9:09 a.m.
My girlfriend zitagsd sent me this a little while ago, and it brought a smile to my lips. So, if you find yourselves in need of a lift, by all means click the link.

Last night as I was undressing for bed, it was past midnight, I looked out the window and commented to Hubby, who had just said, “It’s supposed to snow tomorrow,” “It’s snowing right now!” A soft snowfall was coming down illuminated by the street lamps, the road was white, the lawns where whitening, there was a layer of frosty white stuff on the cars in the driveway across the street. A few hours later I awakened because he was sitting up in bed, listening to a sound reminiscent of candy wrappers being rustled in a quiet concert hall and asked me if I heard the mouse in the wall. It wasn’t our resident rodent, I assured him, it sounds like sleet or freezing rain. We also heard the snow plough go by a few times. This morning the world is still sort of white, except the roads which have been duly cleared. Our driveway looks slushy. According to the forecast, we’re heading into another deep freeze for a few days.

My menfolk did in fact go to Montreal yesterday, a little later than planned since Buddy Boy got back from the friend’s where he had spent the previous night around 8:30 a.m. and promptly went back to bed, my husband hesitant to wake him. Little Princess and I picked Patsy up at about 12:30 and we older ladies registered for the next belly dancing course, which begins a week today, then the three of us had a delightful lunch at the restaurant which masquerades as an antiques emporium.

We followed this up with a trip to the international food store where I purchased saffron for the first time in my life. They keep it near the cash register like a restricted substance, and it sure was expensive. I hope it’s worth it.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>