Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Lost and found�too late

Sunday, Jan. 8, 2006
10:50 a.m.
I had a most slothful day yesterday, spent almost entirely at the computer, and totally forgot to update before I went to bed. Hubby and Buddy Boy went to Montreal early in the day to see a hockey game, Little Princess still isn�t back from her trip, so I found myself alone. I had great plans at first to do certain jobs I�d been putting off, but procrastination is a really big problem with me, and they got put off yet again. Instead I was online most of the day, chatting and doing other online things.

Our inkjet printer is almost totally out of ink, so I found the online site of the place where one of my online friends works to order replacement cartridges. For this I needed a credit card, so I got my purse, only to find that the MasterCard, which is my standard online purchasing account, was missing. I freaked out. I last used it on Wednesday when I ordered some earrings on sale from CIipt0mania and was certain that I had replaced it in my purse. I checked the area all around the computer, my jeans (which had been through the wash), the washer and dryer, and found it nowhere. Patsy and I were at the mall the day before, and there was a remote possibility that someone had managed to lift it, although it�s not at the top of the pile.

Anyway, I phoned the bank and told the nice guy on the end of the line my story, had the card cancelled and they�re issuing me a new one. I ordered the cartridges, using a different credit card (I have several) and they will be delivered by Pur0Iator on Tuesday (free delivery on orders over $50 anywhere in Canada!). In the meantime we have another printer (a laser), so there�s no real urgency.

This morning Hubby and I undressed and took down the Brumalia shrubbery. I couldn�t believe my eyes, there were little baby cones growing all along the branches; the tree was actually alive and thriving in our livingroom as it sat in its shallow pool of water. It felt so wrong to be putting it out in the snow at the side of the road for pickup. Anyway, at one point I reached into the pocket of my bathrobe, and there was my missing credit card. I couldn�t believe what an idiot I was. Why didn�t I think of checking there when I was running around looking for it? Because even I won�t admit to myself what a lazy, slothful person I am.

I think I really, really need to go back to school and work. Being on holidays is all very fine and well, but my whole sleep pattern is off kilter and I�ve honed procrastination to a fine art. Plus, I spend way too much time at the computer, either reading diaries, writing entries (this is not my only blog, folks), or chatting with invisible friends. At least I�ve got a date to go skating in an hour with one of my daughter�s friends. This causes some concern to my husband, that I am hanging out with her friends and she�s not even there. I told him he should be happy that I�m going out and getting some exercise at all, regardless of whom with. Once Little Princess graduates and moves away from here, I won�t be able to do this anymore, so I may as well take advantage of it while I can.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>