Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

All in a day�s work.

Saturday, Jan. 8, 2005
10:01 p.m.
After thinking it over, I decided that $20 was well worth it even if I only wore it once, so I got to the mall just as it was opening and purchased the black satin dress I tried on the day before yesterday; and what I do with it and with whom will likely not be reported in these pages. I was also able to return a superfluous DVD that Hubby bought (i.e. we already had a copy), and I was home by 10:30. All in a morning�s drive.

After three days of unplugged exposure, I am pleased to say that my basement freezer is now defrosted and the food which I had packed away in coolers and left on the back deck, ever watchful lest the outside temperature rise above freezing, is now put back without the plethora of pack ice that was keeping the door from closing properly. This is a job that should be done every year, and which gets done maybe once in three, depending on when the door stops shutting. My plan at some point is to get a chest freezer and keep it in the garage, but that requires a massive cleanup and rearranging, something that will probably not get done while we still live in this house.

I also finally removed from its box and set up the fancy printer that we purchased with this shiny new iMac, an Eps0n StyIus PHOTO R8oo, which is supposed to do photo-quality printing on special glossy paper as well as print directly onto CDs. A USB port cable was not included with the printer, why I have not the slightest idea, and I ended up using the cable from the ZlP drive as a stop-gap solution; and to think that I was at Future Sh0p this morning returning that DVD and I could have picked one up then. Harrumph!

This brings us to a total of four computers and five printers that we own (the G4 powerbook doesn�t count, since it really belongs to the university), including my husband�s old powerbook which has something wrong with the processor but which saved our sanity in Greece, providing us with music, games and a means of keeping in touch with the folks back home (we had no internet, we had no phone, be we did have a portable printer and plenty of postage). I think we could probably start a museum, since no one would buy this equipment except to recycle the gold from the circuitry.

Progress, thy name is obsolescence.


from eggsaucted :

I find it highly annoying that you no longer get cables when you buy printers.

from harri3tspy :

I just had the same problem with the printer we just got for my husband. How hard is it to stick a cable in the box? Sheesh.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>