Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I speak, therefore I am.

Thursday, Feb. 8, 2007
10:53 p.m.
We had our first rehearsal for the quartet from Kismet today and it went very well. It made me wonder why Dr. M and I hadn’t sung a duet before this: our voices blend together particularly well, something I can’t say for all tenors of my acquaintance. So, I’m looking forward to working further with him, and I hope we can convince Herr Doktor Professor to let us do more performing together.

Buddy Boy got a hair cut, which sounds pretty mundane in itself, but it meant that I got to see Mr. B. the barber, and that’s always fun. It will be pretty sad when my son leaves home next year and I don’t get to visit the barbershop anymore, not having the excuse. Oh well. Such is life.

Choir practice was brutal, I’m not sure why. Hubby and I had a tiff, again I’m not sure why, which meant that I left late for the other Dr. M.’s lecture on women and witchcraft in rabbinic literature and missed the first five minutes. The old library was packed and I had to stand in the “vestibule”, that area just inside the door before you pass through the book detector (a modern apparatus which seems totally out of place in that gorgeous old room). Her lecture was very interesting and I will write something about it tomorrow and my thoughts on the subject after I’ve had a night’s sleep and formulated some kind of coherent essay on the subject.

Afterwards there was a reception in the faculty lounge with wine and cheese, so I gorged myself, which was pretty stupid considering I’d had an adequate supper. I also engaged in conversation with colleagues and students about intellectual and less-so subjects. I love being part of a university community. I think I would go crazy without the stimulation of intelligent minds around me. I’m reminded of a line from Denys Arcand’s film Le Déclin de l’empire américain where the wife of one of the professors says to the biker dude who was expecting an orgy, “Intellectuals love to talk.”

|

<~~~ * ~~~>