Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

We are now synchronized.

Wednesday, Feb. 8, 2006
7:29 p.m.
You know I need to get a life when I�m standing at the window in the upstairs hallway, all excited because the recycling truck is �eating up� all the recycling. My daughter called up to me, �Mom, you�re weird!� Yes, well, this is all true.

It was a Wednesday like all the rest, except that my alarm (after two days of not waking me up) worked this morning, but the grandfather clock had stopped because the chain came off the weight pulley, and the chiming mechanism was out of sync with the hour. I fixed it by climbing on the end table and turning the hands around very quickly until the hour and the number of bongs matched up. It�s no easy feat. I�ve had to do it once before (I think for the same reason), and I really had no idea what I was doing, so it took longer. I think I have it figured out now.

We�re still working on the subjunctive in Latin. What an incredibly complicated language! I don�t know how I�m ever going to remember all this stuff. It�s quite difficult to learn a new language when you�re already hardwired (as opposed to children whose neural pathways are just developing), and Latin is so full of rules and grammatical constructions which later languages have dispensed with that it�s a lot for our poor addled, adult brains to assimilate.

My annoying student, the one whom I lectured last week about regular practising, has actually been putting her time in daily and in one week the improvement is remarkable. She has an extremely low frustration threshhold and I have to constantly speak to her in soothing tones. But I think maybe there�s hope for her after all.

Anyway, the high point of my day came with the purchase of a pair of RefIex windshield wipers, which are supposed to give your windshield a superior wipe due to their unique design. (If the site asks you for your postal code, type in M6W 1E6.) They were bloody expensive, and I even paid to have them installed, as per my husband�s instructions. But so far they seem to be working as advertised on TV.

Speaking of which, Hubby and Buddy Boy are driving to BurIington, VT tomorrow and leaving the car at the airport there and flying to Florida to visit my in-laws for several days. They won�t be back until late Tuesday night, which means that Little Princess and I are on our own for six days. I think we should have a party.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>