Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The sherry is very good.

Wednesday, Dec. 8, 2004
9:31 p.m.
Yes, the SAQ is on strike and heaven knows when I�ll be able to buy another bottle of Harvey�s Brist0l Cream Sherry, but what the hey, a girl has to relax every now and again.

We rehearsed for this weekend�s UpIands concert at the music department in the concert hall, which was a darn sight better than Vlad�s living room. At least Albert, her wheaten terrier, wasn�t bringing us his toys and constantly vying for our attention. As much as I like Vlad and admire her musicianship, she is not a very good singer. She insists on taking the upper parts when we divide and is often slightly out of tune and has a bleating quality to her voice, reminiscent of the �nymphs and shepherds� sound I like to poke fun at. Her pronunciation of French is rather dreadful and doesn�t defer to Jean-S�bastien, our token francophone, who should really be made to make us repeat after him. I remain meek and mild throughout all this. I do not have the extensive training she does nor the knowledge of repertoire; but I do have a stronger voice, am truer in pitch and pronunciation, and am doing my best to sing the music as I imagine the composer intended it. She is my friend, and I do not want to step on her toes. Her ego is fragile enough as it is and she tends to become rather cruel when she gets defensive.

The second candle remains unlit. I just got home but Little Princess is not back from wherever she went with her friends for dinner. It looks like Channukah is going to be a non-holiday this year.

I have run out of inspiration to write more. Others say it so much more eloquently than I do, whatever it is. Maybe tomorrow I will have something new to relate.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>