Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Decompressing

Wednesday, Apr. 8, 2009
10:03 p.m.
The layers of the onion are starting to peel off. Hubby’s composition students’ pieces went very well for the most part, and the party did not adjourn to our house, but to the student pub where an end-of-classes, drink-the-pub-dry thing was going on. In fact, I overimbibed and was feeling very little pain at all when I got home. This morning wasn’t that painless. I am such an alcoholic lightweight.

All of my students who have juries tomorrow have now been taught. I feel that I have discharged my last duties to them. My Spanish oral exam went well, and that’s over. There are still things to do, but the end is in sight.

My mom phoned today and I was not able to connect with her. A year and-a-half ago she gave me all her jewelry. Apparently she doesn’t know where it is, or what I have, or something like that, and it would seem she wants something pretty to wear to her party on Saturday. That’s fair. I just hope she’s not remembering something falsely. I’ll give her a call tomorrow morning and find out what’s going on.

The jazz ensembles gave their concert tonight. Apart from the fact that there was literally a handful of people there, they played well and it was a nice evening. I really hate it that student ensemble concerts are so poorly attended, yet such a big deal is made of the choir. There seems to be a gross inequality here.




|

<~~~ * ~~~>