Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Long day, short entry

Friday, Apr. 9, 2005
1:13 a.m.
I am very tired, so tired in fact that my eyes were having a hard time staying open while Hubby, Buddy Boy and I watched The Incredibles, but so much has transpired today I must get it down in words.

The first thing that happened was a phone call from my across-the-street neighbour. She was calling to find out if someone from our house would be around tomorrow at a certain time to let the caterers into her house to deliver food for a reception since she and her family will be at a ceremony for her brother who recently committed suicide. This totally floored me. Their mother died from Altzheimer�s and the father is already distraught. Then the son, who used to own the nice motel in town and sold it a couple of years ago, took his own life. He was bipolar, which probably explains it the most, but his marriage had ended a few years back (I remember his wife because her kids went to the same French school as mine and my neighbour�s and I would see her at school dos), he�d lost money in the stock market and there were a number of other sad stories which I�ve forgotten. How can life look so bleak that there is nothing to do but end it? I thank my lucky stars that I have never been that low.

Then I went to school where I taught five lessons. It was supposed to be six, but the last one (the one who is consistently late with no excuse) never showed. She was in the choir concert tonight, though, and never said a word to me, not even �hello�. Hmmmm. At home Little Princess and her boyfriend had prepared supper. I was so happy! We were due back at the school at 6 p.m. for a runthrough of positions and concert order, and to warm up and I was afraid I wouldn�t have time to put on my makeup. As it turned out, I did.

The concert went well. It was sold out, as usual, but I managed to get Buddy Boy a ticket. Hubby will be house managing tomorrow, so hopefully he�ll get to see it then. My former student for whom I will not write a recommendation for officer training and who calls me �mom� was ill, and only came on stage for his solo bits. He had the chills and was feverish, and ended up vomitting at some point (offstage, thankfully). I don�t recall now if my other student, the one who has deferred her jury, was there. Hmmmm. The audience, as always, was very appreciative, and I got lots of comments that I looked like a kid on stage. That�s always nice to hear.

After getting home, we watched The Incredibles, as mentioned above, and it was a lot of fun. But I�m so tired now. I will bid you all good night and head off to my wee bed. Good night.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>