Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�m playing hookie.

Thursday, Oct. 7, 2004
7:39 p.m.
Patsy called during supper begging off belly dancing tonight, and I embraced it as the excuse I needed to stay home and recharge my much depleted batteries. Seeking out the alcoholic beverage I had eschewed earlier, I finished off the last of the Harvey�s Brist0l Cream Sherry and took my glass upstairs so that I could play on the internet and get a slight buzz on. You, my dear audience, are now the beneficiaries of that glow.

Hubby did something very funny at supper. When we were at the apple orchard on Sunday he purchased a quantity of fresh hot peppers, some jalape�os and some not, and tonight decided to cut a couple into strips and eat them raw. He tasted them separately, and then mixed the slices into his rice. Approximately one and-a-half peppers later, he started describing how his face felt like it was on fire from the inside. Buddy Boy and I didn�t notice any apparent change on the outside�he has a very ruddy complexion to begin with�but he was convinced that he was turning red and sweating. It�s not as though he was complaining; I think he actually enjoyed the sensation, which for another person would have been acutely painful. Anyway, the moment passed and everything went back to normal.

In choir today we split up into sections and rehearsed a part of the Fanshawe which was Killer City for the sopranos. It sits right on and above the upper break, forte, and then pops up to Bs and C sharps for a select few. I am one of those few. Then we regrouped back on the stage and sang that section over and over and over and over and over again. I am seriously surprised that I even had a voice left after that. Well, actually, I�m more surprised that the other sopranos did, and I believe that some of them didn�t. We were also short about a quarter of the choir, since this weekend is Thanksgiving and the university has decided to institute a mini-break over the long weekend, augmenting the former just-Monday off with Friday and Tuesday as well. So, many kids had already packed their bags and vamoosed earlier today. Give them an inch�

Tomorrow Hubby and I have to go shopping for Christmas presents for his family since it is tradition to drop them off at his parents� when we visit for Thanksgiving. We already have a couple of things, so it shouldn�t be too onerous a task. We�ll drive on Saturday, stay over at his folks� for two nights with the big feast on Sunday, then drive home again on Monday with a short stop in Toronto to visit my mom and see my brother and his family before they go back to Israel mid-week. Last year I wrote several entries surrounding our Thanksgiving visit, and I do not plan on doing so again. So, if you really want to catch up on my haranguing, you can go here and here and here and here.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>