Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Simplicity and clarity should be your theme in dress.

Sunday, Nov. 7, 2004
7:38 p.m.

Coming over the rise at the gravel pit with all of Sh�brooke laid out before me, I spied Orford on the horizon, the ski trails delineated in white snow. The temperature rose today to about 16�C and all of yesterday�s precipitation has disappeared, but the reminder of what was and what will be loomed at me in the distance.

I turned on the iMac this morning and was greeted with the �where�s-the-system?� symbol, a flashing file folder alternating with a question mark. After hunting around in the box where we keep all the Macintosh-related software and extra cables, I found the N0rton Utilities CD which I managed to pop into the disk drive after a false start, and ran the computer through the Disk D0ctor and defragmentation programs. It is now operating beautifully and I am much relieved.

We co-opted Little Princess and her BF to rake leaves today. The oak is almost bare after all that wind yesterday and the night before. I carried the spent jack o�lanterns into the backyard and placed them oh so carefully in the composter so that kitchen garbage will fill them up. I also brought in the one uncarved pumpkin for culinary purposes. Culinary comes from culina, which is Latin for kitchen. See, I�m learning things already.

Hubby and I went to a recital this afternoon at Up1ands, the Victorian museum in town. Our two most talented students, a flutist and a cellist, performed. The flutist played solo and also accompanied by one of our staff accompanists and the cellist played a Bach cello suite. Afterwards there was a punch and crackers and cheese reception. It was nice. We were the only faculty to show up and there were three students in the audience. The rest were townies. It would have been nicer for the musicians to have a larger audience, but they did fairly well. It was free, donations accepted, with a reception afterwards. You�d think more students would come out to something like that to support their colleagues. Oh well.

The title for today�s entry was taken from my Shanghai II fortune cookie.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>