Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Seasons of wine and roses

Tuesday, Mar. 7, 2006
10:41 p.m.
I have never seen the musical Rent, neither the stage show nor the movie, and the only number I know from it is the song �Seas0ns of L0ve�, a choral arrangement of which we are doing in choir. I hate this piece. Okay, hate may be too strong a word, but I find it dorkishly repetitive, the tune annoyingly simple, poorly composed, the lyrics uninspired, and Herr Doktor Professor has assigned every single verse to soloists, so that there is absolutely nothing interesting for the sopranos to sing and we are stuck on the alto line, which is way too low for this coloratura. I have decided that I will just remain tacet in this piece and let the others carry the day.

It was kind of funny because just prior to our rehearsing of it today, one of the second sopranos, who doesn�t even have a solo in this particular piece, made a little speech about what a fabulous musical Rent is and how great this song is, and if you don�t �love� it, you might as well not even sing it. Well, since I don�t love it, and in fact feel quite contrary, I won�t sing it. No one will miss me, believe it.

So, here�s a photo emailed to us by a man from Oshawa who was sitting at our table at the restaurant in Havana. I am obviously interested in my food, and Hubby is distracted by the mandolin player to his left. Nice rack, eh?

Image hosting by Photobucket

|

<~~~ * ~~~>