Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Lifeline

Thursday, Jan. 7, 2010
10:04 p.m.
Apropos yesterday’s entry, Harrietspy asked what a lifeline was. In knitting parlance, it’s a lifesaver.

I ripped back my knitting this morning from almost complete to barely begun. Luckily I had drawn a length of dental floss through the stitches of a purl row after I completed one full pattern, and this allowed me to put that row back on my needle and begin again from that point. I will endeavour to be more conscientious and thread lifelines in after every pattern now, so that I don’t have to undo all my hard work again.

Today, though, I have been extremely conscientious about my job. Hubby has to have a score and parts for a section of his opera sent off to some organization on Monday, and I have been diligently transcribing his pencil scratchings onto the computer. I even kept my messenger programs closed so that I wouldn’t be distracted.

Ed came over briefly this afternoon to return the sleeping bag Little Princess had borrowed for the New Year’s Eve sleepover in the nation’s capital. He brought some excellent jasmine-flavoured green tea, which we enjoyed with medjool dates.

I have become rather doughy of late, and overeating during the holidays didn’t help, so I’m trying to reduce. Sitting all day at a computer is not helping, but being up in the attic away from the food is.

Anyway, there you have it, lifeline and all.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>