Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Wild, wild turkeys couldn�t drag me away.

Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2005
4:01 p.m.
Yes, it�s finally happened. The turkey I spoke about last week has been sighted attacking a small child (she�s fine) and identified. It is a runaway from a wild turkey farm in the neighbourhood, the owners of which gave an extensive interview to the paper. The little girl only got a couple of lines of print. Tsk tsk.

The Duchess had her surgery on Monday and was discharged yesterday, the doctor very pleased with the outcome. I went to the florist today to have them send her a nice floral arrangement. Apparently, according to Vlad who spoke to the Duke (and whom the Duchess called this morning), she wanted to go shopping today, she felt that well. Imagine! Now that they�ve removed the offending portion of her anatomy, they�ll be subjecting her to radiation therapy, which doesn�t sound like a fun time, but she seems to be doing very well nonetheless. I am, as you can imagine, quite relieved to hear that.

I not only went to the florist, but braved slippery roads in the Volvo (my darling husband took the Subaru this morning, even though I told him I had errands to run), first dropping Little Princess off at the clinic to have her dressing changed prior to her mechanics exam, then to the florist, then to the Four Seasons Shopping Mall where I got a new battery for my watch (the Cardinal that just keeps on ticking), an avocado slicer (I couldn�t resist, I thought it the most useful yet hilarious kitchen gadget yet) and an adorable pair of shoes pour moi m�me (yes, they�re black, all my shoes are black, except for the white, red and gold ones) at (you�ll never guess, not in a million years) ZeIIer�s, that bastion of cheap Canadian department store shopping which I used to frequent frequently when the children were small and growing out of their clothes like Manitoba maples. I rarely go there now, since we�ve all moved up in the world sufficiently to pay higher prices for better value stuff, but on occasion I wander through their densely packed aisles and find gems, like I did today.

The watch deserves a paragraph all its own, if I haven�t already mentioned it somewhere in these hallowed pages. When Hubby and I were in the early (read �penniless�) years of our marriage, he bought me a very nice (read �expensive�) watch which ended up at the jeweller�s for repairs more often than it was on my wrist telling time. I think that I actually spent more on fixing it than he initially paid for it. Well, after it died its final death, I replaced it with a $24.95 Cardinal, a gold-toned, three-quarter inch round face with nice big numbers and a sweep second hand. This watch, in all those years (and it must be 20 or so by now) has never let me down. Sure, I�ve spent more than its original cost on replacement batteries and leather wristbands, but I have always had a functioning timepiece.

Just as I was typing the above, the phone rang and it was none other than the Duchess, thanking me for the beautiful flowers that she had received. She�s feeling absolutely fine and has no pain from the operation and sounded fabulous. We chatted as though there had never been any hiatus in our relationship, and when I told her about my reluctant avoidance of her driveway as I passed her house, she thanked me for staying away and not bringing any wayward viruses or bacteria into her compromised immune system�s presence. Also, since she�s finished with the chemo and may not even need radiation therapy, she�ll be keeping to herself less and will actually come to concerts and functions and be a social person again. I�m really, really happy for her.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>