Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Quick Update

Tuesday, Dec. 7, 2004
11:43 a.m.
Hubby has been shopped for. I found eight CDs he wanted, all on halfbay.com, and ordered them forthwith. I hope they come quickly. I once ordered a reference text from the same source and it took a very long time to get here.

We drove to the university at 8:00 a.m. to get the Volvo which started no problem after having been plugged in all night. On the way home I gassed up the Subaru and we also bought some gas-line antifreeze for the old clunker, and hopefully that will keep it humming away happily. When we got home, I could see it looking longingly towards the heated garage where the newer vehicle now lives. It�s just too sad. We might start parking the venerable Volvo inside just to keep it happy, although that would making the unloading of groceries inconvenient for me, the driver of the Subaru.

Speaking of garages, the garage-door repair guy is back. The automatic door would stop and start going back up at a couple of points, and also doesn�t meet the ground completely when closed, allowing small woodland creatures access to the heated interior. It was becoming increasingly annoying. Hopefully he will fix it properly this time.

On the phone with the service lady yesterday, she was asking me if the eyes at the bottom of the door were aligned. �What eyes?� I kept asking. It turns out that on newer models there are photoelectric eyes that ensure that the door is evenly closed. Sorry, this door was installed 14 years ago. No eyes.

There are still some lessons left to teach, even though exams have officially begun. Ideally I should be able to complete them all this week, except for the poor girl with tonisilitis. We�ll just have to find some way of packing them in next term. Little Princess informs me that a former student (oh yeah, the guy who wants to join the armed forces) will clean my house for singing lessons. I don�t think he realizes how much of a tempting offer this is. However, I don�t think I want him having access to my most personal possessions. We shall see.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>