Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

By the Power of YooToobe!

Friday, Aug. 7, 2009
7:55 a.m.
I have a confession to make. The idea of updating my diary is no longer appealing. I cease to have a burning desire to let the faceless internet know what is going on in my life, or what my thoughts are on lofty and esoteric subjects. No one out there, bar a couple of staunch friends, really cares, and even those friends would do without reading my words because I speak to them regularly. The only person who benefits from this exercise is moi même as an outlet for my creative impulses and a place to vent so that the steam doesn’t build up too greatly and blow my top off. However, there are things I want to say that are none of the internet’s business, and other things I have said too often.

My mother’s decline continues. I spoke to her three times yesterday, the first at my own instigation. She remembered neither of the other conversations when she called me back in the afternoon and then after dinner. The latter was the most disturbing, as she must have gone to bed immediately following dinner, woke up in her nightgown and thought she was in a hospital. I reassured her repeatedly, and she calmed down and decided she would go to bed, sleep, and start tomorrow as a fresh day. I came away from the phone more upset than she was.

Little Princess is here, which pleases me no end. We walked into town yesterday so I could get my eyebrows waxed (“Sorry! We’re booked up right into next week!”) and to buy some hair dye, and we shared a plate of pad see eu at Pizzaville. It was delicious. I guess I’ll have to attempt waxing my own eyebrows, a thought which terrifies me, or just get out the old tweezers and pluck them.

Our car is at the shop for an oil and filter change, and we have graciously been granted a courtesy car which I alone am authorized to drive. Hence, I’ve been doing a lot of driving. Buddy Boy has been working for his friend’s grandmother who is selling her vast acreage since her husband is deceased, and he’s been working very hard at landscaping. She lives a 20-minute drive into the country along a dirt road. I drove there and back twice yesterday.

When I breathlessly arrived at the garage just at closing time, the receptionist said, “Your daughter didn’t give you my message, did she?” In fact, Little Princess had been woken up by the ringing of the phone and garbled the message. The car was not ready, as she thought, but wouldn’t be ready before the next day. In fact, when I arrived, it was up on the hoist having the rear brakes fixed.

Hubby’s trio has an outdoor show this afternoon and, as I write this, it is pouring rain. Hopefully it’ll clear up. Hopefully our car will be ready before then as well. In the meantime, I have to dye my hair and pluck my eyebrows. Oh yes, and I have to drive Buddy Boy to La S0urce so he can pick up some tapes as Hubby has borrowed video equipment so that our son and his friend can record the show. My husband has discovered the power of YooToobe.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>