Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Winding up and down.

Monday, Apr. 7, 2008
10:33 p.m.
There was grass exposed on campus today. There were puddles in the parking lots where the mountains of snow have been melting and filling in all the uneven spots. The sun shone and I saw students wandering around outside without jackets on. Hell, I even saw profs doing it. There is a buoyant optimism in the air that I associate with the light visible at the end of the tunnel which is the academic year. Even though most students are swamped with papers due, assignments, presentations, recitals and ensemble concerts, they can count the days now until freedom. For those graduating, it is the end of an era.

Tonight my recorder ensemble performed on the chamber ensemble concert, a set of three trios and a Mozart suite (we cut the minuet and trio) for quartet. The former went very well, the latter not so well, but Hubby said it was better than he had ever heard it in rehearsal. I breathed a huge sigh of relief when it was done. I don’t know if I’ll ever do that again, but it was kind of fun resurrecting my recorder-playing skills. The tunnel is that much shorter now.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>