Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

One down, two to go.

Saturday, Apr. 8, 2006
12:40 a.m.
I convinced Little Princess to come to the mall with me this morning. I just felt like an outing with my daughter, and I�m not above bribing her with a free lunch. We wandered in and out of dress shops, tried on a bustier in a lingerie store, she bought herself a sudoku book and some bracelets at one of these cheap accessory stores, and I bought both of us vegetarian plates at the Chinese food counter in the food court. It was fun. My fortune cookie said: You will be awarded some great honour. Hers said that she would soon experience a thrill, and I hoped that meant I wasn�t going to crash the car on the way back.

We made it to the university in time for the last studio class of the year, and my baritone sang two of his Poulenc songs from memory, not badly except that he was hungover from last night�s visit to the bar. It�s about time. His recital is in less than two weeks.

Then I went home, finished the crossword puzzle, and napped for a couple of hours. Herr Doktor Professor wanted us there tonight at 6:30, and that�s when I got there. Everyone thought my solo was great, I thought it was shit, especially since I started to dry out right before, feeling a little bit like a raisin, and my register break notes, while not as bad as yesterday, were still not wonderful. I�m hoping for at least one good performance of this piece. It didn�t help that I met the other singing teacher at the guichet picking up her tickets, and she said that that was her signature aria once upon a time. Great.

Anyway, I got home and fixed myself a drink (hot chocolate with orange liqueur) and Hubby invited me to join him in front of the big TV as he had rented Wedding Crashers, a movie I�ve been wanting to see for ages. It was nice. Funny even. From the trailer I thought I would be in stitches the whole time, and at one point Buddy Boy asked if I had fallen asleep. I guess he thought I would be in stitches too. I just didn�t find it all that funny. Mind you, the segment with WiII FarreII was hilarious. But it was endearing and nice, and Owen WiIs0n got the girl, so everything worked out as it should.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>