Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Wolfgang, blow that angel trumpet!

Wednesday, Sept. 6, 2006
8:52 p.m.
It's got to be the allergies that are dragging me down. I refuse to take antihistamines unless I absolutely have to, having experienced resistance in the past to several brands, and so I'm having to put up with that heavy feeling behind my eyes.

The practising is coming apace. Hubby and I went through about half of the blues tunes last night--I'm singing most of those--and this on top of going over my Mozart earlier in the day. Today I sang the Mozart through twice, which may or may not have been a good idea as I hardly have any voice left right now. But tomorrow it should be stronger already. Every fall I go through this and ask myself why I allow my voice to become so rusty with disuse all summer so that I'm beating it back into shape just before school starts. It's insane.

Otherwise today was extremely dull. I did laundry, bought coffee and groceries, and had a brief nap to try to get rid of that heavy feeling. Hubby arrived home at 5:45, just in time to grab some crackers and hummus before heading out to orchestra. Little Princess had asked him to bring her violin, so he did, and when he got home later, after dropping her off at karate, he told me he had brought the wrong one, her 5-string purple cut-away electric violin. It's actually pretty funny, and considering they didn't have a real rehearsal, no harm was done.

My burgmansia is flowering like crazy after having sat outside all summer putting forth greenery. Now that its leaves are turning yellow and curling up, it has a dozen or so buds that just keep popping out angel trumpet flowers. This is very bizarre. Soon I will be digging it up and bringing it back indoors. Why couldn't it have flowered in the nice weather?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>