Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Nice weather, eh?

Friday, May 6, 2005
4:42 p.m.
I have already received two notes that show that what I wrote yesterday is grammatically unclear: �I also perused the Cliptomania website today, drooling over all the beautiful earrings that I could wear, considering I have never pierced my ears nor intend to do so. I am so tempted.� The temptation mentioned was not to get my ears pierced, but to spend oodles of money on earrings for non-pierced ears! I have actually done that, by the way, spent oodles, not pierced my ears. I like my virgin lobes. They are quite attractive as they are and I do not want to mar their perfection by introducing a hole into them. So there.

Next, I worked long and hard on writing another cywydd llosgyrnog, since the four stanzas I composed at writing group were truly terrible, and this is what I came up with:

When the weather is warm and fine
I hang my laundry on the line
In the sunshine till it dries.
The sounds of nature soothe me there.
Fresh smells of laundry fill the air;
A bird lands there, then it flies.

The weather is gorgeous, which of course means that I hung out laundry, which would account for the inspiration for my cywydd llosgyrnog. If anyone knows how to pronounce that, I would be much obliged. I also drove Buddy Boy 37 km to a friend�s place and realized anew what a beautiful part of the world I live in.


from hissandtell :

Unfortunately, the extent of my Welsh begins and ends with, �Which way to the Portmeirion Potteries section?� - but I�m finding your poetry fascinating nonetheless. I�ve been enjoying the Cliptomania site; sparkly ornamental clips never go astray. (But no piercing, darling? Not even nipples?) Love, R xxx

from zitagsd :

The Cywydd Llosgyrnog. The Cywydd Llosgyrnog (pronounced cuh-with lo-seer-nock) (from: www.angelfire.com/art/formsofpoetry/agamemmnon' s.sanctuary.irishforms.cywyddllosgyrnog.html). And of course hearty congrats to your dearest daughter. You are rightfully proud! And so am I!!!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>