Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

... and so it goes.

Friday, June 6, 2008
10:57 p.m.
True to my word, I have been calling my mother daily. She is such an incredible woman. People who do not know her as I do think I should just take the bull by the horns and put her in a home already, but it has to be her decision, not mine, and she has to feel as though she is the one in charge.

It has come to the point where she really does want to make that move. I mean, she wants to make the move. There is a home not too far from where she lives apparently, where she knows people who seem to be satisfied, and she is supposed to be checking it out next week. She also saw her doctor today who doesn’t seem too concerned about her deterioration.

I phoned her last night to touch base and was able to talk to her boarder, Frank. He is a sweet guy, a good person and I really do believe that he has my mother’s best interest at heart, but unfortunately he is a bit of an idiot. Because my mother is mostly lucid, has a good vocabulary and knows a lot, even though she’s forgetting it these days, he does not see the holes for the cheese. When I asked him what was going on vis a vis these other tenants she was talking about, he laughed and said that they were playing games, that my mother is putting on an act. Finally, after telling him that I only know what I hear over the phone, he in fact ascertained that he is the only person living in the upstairs of her house now and ever.

When I got my mother back on the phone I told her quite frankly that Frank is an idiot and she really shouldn’t rely on him if things get terribly hairy. She doesn’t think that’s going to happen, but I told her to keep it in the back of her mind nonetheless. In any event, when she moves into this residence and sells her house, Frank is going to have to find elsewhere to freeload.

The weather has been terrible, raining for days. Tomorrow is supposed to be quite hot, almost 30°C, but my widget is still predicting rain. When do we get sunshine already? This is June!

Anyway, having got that off my chest, I suppose I can go to bed now.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>