Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Still knitting, ripping, knitting, ripping, knitting...

Wednesday, Jan. 6, 2010
8:31 p.m.
I started another knitting project during the holidays, a lacy shawl/scarf like the one I made myself out of that blue variegated sock yarn, only this one is a purple lace-weight wool-silk blend my daughter gave me in exchange for getting one of her boots repaired. I thought it would make a nice birthday gift for my mother-in-law.

I put in one lifeline, to which I actually ripped back once, and then didn’t insert any more. That was a mistake. I have found ways to fix problems without upsetting the pattern too much. An experienced knitter would see the errors, but my mother-in-law certainly would not.

However, I’m now at the point where things are going terribly wrong and I have to rip back. Unfortunately, I only put in one lifeline after the first complete pattern. I have completed five since then. I hate this part.

Wish me luck.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>