Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Generation gap? What generation gap?

Thursday, Jan. 6, 2005
10:11 p.m.
Thank you everyone for all your kind notes. You are too good to me.

I tried on and did not buy a garment at the mall today, a black, satin, body-hugging, low-cut, criss-cross straps, incredibly sexy, marked down to $20.00 dress because my daughter, in her infinite fashion wisdom, said that even though I looked fantastic in it, it was not really all that nice a dress. But damn! I looked good! She, on the other hand, found a pair of jeans and a jean skirt, both at bargain-basement prices, so she did well for herself. Not only that, but earlier at Costco I bought a 512 DSL card for her mp3 player, something she could not afford on her own and which she dearly desired. I am such a good mom.

Speaking of which, suddenly I found myself revealing to my 18-year-old daughter information about my past which I had thought I would keep under wraps. She mentioned that her friend Sam (of the photo of a week or so ago) is from Mennonite stock, which now makes sense, considering I used to say that �I never met a Mennonite I didn�t like�, and then went on to qualify that, since I have met and liked Mennonites who turned out to be not-nice people in the long run.

I started talking about this one Mennonite fellow I knew as a university student, a very friendly, amicable character, who used to come around when he wanted a liaison (you know exactly what I�m talking about), and whom I didn�t discourage because I liked the attention, although personally he never did anything for me. And somehow that led me to blurt out more than I ought to have, which prompted me to say, �But you don�t want to hear about your mom�s promiscuous past,� to which Little Princess replied, �Well, actually, I do.� Oh lordy.

Interestingly enough, I ran into the Mennonite fellow several years ago at a music store in downtown Toronto when I had already been married for 15 years or so. He had forgotten my name! I had not forgotten his, although I pretended to take a while recalling it. Whatever could have possessed me to frolic with that guy? If I had known then what I know now�


from coldandgray :

An old roommate of mine was a Mennonite. Very nice, but an INSANE pack rat with OCD. He could not get rid of a newspaper until he read it, so he had stacks and stacks and stacks of newspapers around the whole house, some dating back as far as 1983. He also was naked a lot.

from time2 :

Uh oh! It�s slowly leaking out, soon the dam will breach and out will come all the stories, the daughter will be flabbergasted and your relationship will grow stronger....it should be fun.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>