Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I’ll light the fire...

Sunday, Dec. 6, 2009
8:58 p.m.
I got the wood stove going tonight and didn’t smoke up the house as I usually do. The chimney sweeps were here on Friday and I stacked a whole mess of wood this afternoon until it got too dark. My back is feeling it now.

The geese are still making practice flights. Walking home from the university the other day, on my way up the hill past the cemetery, I had to stop and just stare at the sky. There were so many geese flying north in so many different formations, Vs that crossed each other flying just above or below, small groupings, large masses, and they were all honking and making so much noise. Just as the sky cleared another bunch came from across the river. Today there were more of them, not as many as Friday, but still headed in the wrong direction.

Suzie came and visited for a while, crouching on the stacked wood, all bunched up. I suspect he was cold. Flurries fell briefly as clouds moved across the sky, and then it cleared and there was a deep orange sunset. The water that had collected on the tarp was already freezing into thick sheets when I decided to call it quits.

I wrapped the tarps up over and around the pile, weighting it was sticks, and tomorrow I’ll finish stacking it, weather permitting. My bus leaves in the afternoon and I have much to do before I go. I think I’ll forgo pilates. My back is sore enough as it is.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>