Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A fish, a bone, and a craw.

Thursday, Dec. 6, 2007
7:09 p.m.
I have something stuck in my craw. Seriously. I have a fish bone stuck somewhere in the vicinity of my soft palate and it’s driving me crazy. Every time I swallow I can feel it and nothing seems to dislodge it.

You see, it’s Chanukah and I made potato latkes as I do every year, and because all four of us were going to sit down to dinner together, I also thawed two rainbow trouts I had in the freezer and barbecued them, and sautéed broccoli in the wok with garlic and olive oil. Everything was delicious. But in my haste, I started chewing a mouthful of trout with a bone in it and attempted to swallow it, so now it’s stuck. I remember my father telling me to eat bread when something like this happened, but it didn’t help. So I wait; for what, I’m not sure.

I did, however, receive this email today from the student who drives me most crazy:

Dear Elgan. Are you excited about tomorrow? I hope you have a wonderful, and fun time singing the Messiah. I would like to thank you, Elgan, for being my voice teacher. It was an absolute pleasure singing with you and learning some useful skills. It might seem like I do not understand you, but in fact I really do understand your clear explanations. You are very good at repeating the important points, which is one of the best ways for information to stick with me. HAS ANYBODY TOLD YOU ARE A GREAT TEACHER? You certainly are. Have a nice and restful time off, and see you in 2008!

A. P.

I have never received vindication like this before. Wow!



|

<~~~ * ~~~>