Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

You are getting sleepy...

Sunday, Apr. 6, 2008
8:21 p.m.
Once more I am not attending a student recital this evening. Why ruin my perfect record of non-attendance so far? If anyone asks, I am exhausted. Actually, I am exhausted. But just in case anyone asks, that’s what I’m saying.

The day began eventfully enough with the repeat defeat of the Naughty S0rceress. Then Little Princess called me from her BF’s, where she’d spent the night, asking if I could bring one of our toilet plungers when I came to pick her and Ollie up as their toilet was backed up. So I did that. I even did the plunging. Thence followed a rehearsal of our recorder ensemble (minus the second treble player who still hasn’t retrieved my recorder from her friend’s house) as she was in a choir-related rehearsal. She arrived in time for us to run through our pieces in the dress for tomorrow night’s concert. They went all right, I suppose. There are places where we’re still not together and our alto keeps screwing up fingerings and stuff, but we haven’t really got much time to make things better.

After this, I grabbed an Eatmore® bar and ran over to the theatre in time for the choir rehearsal, but I missed the warm up and hadn’t sung a note all day. I forgot the words during the second verse of my solo and I cracked on the break. The rest of the rehearsal had its usual glitches, and we were finally done some time shortly after 5:00 p.m.

Apart from a chocolate chip cookie I snaffled during intermission, all I’d eaten all day was a piece of bread with some smoked salmon and the aforementioned candy bar. I was starting to feel faint.

So, I think it is entirely excusable that I stay in tonight, don’t you?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>