Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Not so fortuna.

Thursday, Apr. 6, 2006
10:23 p.m.
Tonight the jazz ensembles gave their spring concert. I have heard them play better. *sigh*

Earlier today we had a dress rehearsal for the choir show, which opens tomorrow. Because all three shows are sold out, Herr Doktor Professor said that he would allow people into the dress, make it a public event, although an unadvertised one, as there were many people who had wanted to buy tickets but were now unable to. Hence, we had practically a full house for our runthrough.

The first thing on the programme is �O f0rtuna� from Orff�s famous choral extravaganza Carmina Burana, a piece which I love to hate, precisely because it makes me feel good against my will. The theme for the concert is �music from the movies�, and this particular piece, apparently, is played at almost every battle scene in almost every movie that has one. Well, perhaps I exaggerate just a little. But, as my solo from La Wally follows this, it is very strategic in terms of vocal abuse. Today I sang the Orff, and cracked pitifully on my high E in the aria. This would not be an issue if I hadn�t gone and gotten ill, coughing to the point of laryngitis last week. So, I decided that I will not sing the Orff, I will move my lips, but at least I�ll sound good for the Catalani. I mean, I didn�t sound bad, I just didn�t sound my best. The high B was brilliant, in any case.

Okay, my daughter called to be picked up, the clock is still running properly, and this looks like as good a place as any to hit the �done!� button.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>