Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

We have pictures, but no oven

Saturday, Nov. 5, 2005
5:37 p.m.
It would seem that I have blown the lower burner in my stove, right when I need to bake a large lasagne to feed what appears to be seven large appetites. To their credit, Buddy Boy and his friend who is here visiting had a large, late lunch, and they are willing to forgo what is my son�s favourite (well, after rice and tofu) dish in favour of cooking up a pizza later. However, with the oven broken, I don�t know how they will actually do that. Ever resourceful, I fired up the barbecue and have put the pasta in there, setting it on a baking sheet so as not to scorch the bottom. I really, really hope this works.

As you can tell from the time of last night�s entry, I didn�t get to bed until after 2:30 a.m. and I had great intentions of sleeping in this morning. Grandpa Mike and his girlfriend ended up sleeping on our living room couches (since Germ is already ensconced in the guest room) and Hubby assured me he would get up to make them coffee and breakfast. I was enjoying a pleasant snooze when Buddy Boy came through the room, opening the door from the bathroom, walking rather heavy-footed across the floor, and exiting to the hall. He didn�t bother to close either door, and the smells of toast and coffee along with the sounds of conversation meant that I couldn�t get back to sleep. When I asked him later why he hadn�t closed the doors, Buddy Boy�s reaction was , �You were in bed? I never saw you!� * sigh *

Anyway, I had a bath, put on a load of laundry, ate, and was at the university to teach three of my students for 1 p.m. When I got home I started assembling said lasagne, only to hear a �pop� and see the lower burner on fire in one spot. I turned off the oven, but when I turned it on again to continue preheating, the burner didn�t turn its usual friendly cherry-red colour. I don�t know what the kids are going to do. We�re going to Toronto for five days on Monday, leaving them to their own devices. How are they going to prepare food without an oven?

Tonight Hubby and I are off to the symphony. I fear I may fall asleep as I sit in the near darkness, in a comfy chair, lulled by pretty orchestral sounds. We�ll see. And now for those pictures I promised you. They didn�t turn out so well, since we weren�t using a flash, but here are a couple that Buddy Boy took of me after the concert, since we were in such a hurry beforehand that a) he couldn�t photograph me when my makeup was fresh, and b) we forgot to take the camera with us to the concert so he could get a picture of the band.

The dress: Image hosted by Photobucket.com
The Diva: Image hosted by Photobucket.com

|

<~~~ * ~~~>