Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I am a worry wart.

Saturday, May. 5, 2007
8:27 p.m.
My son is home; I can finally stop worrying about him.

I arose at 6:15 a.m. to drive him to the Dead Tim’s near the highway so he could meet his buddies for a 7 o’clock ride to Ormst0wn, QC. I know where that is because I looked it up on the map, but I’ll bet hardly anyone else does. It was kind of funny, as he was trying to wake me without making a lot of noise, doing the “pssst!” thing to no avail, when my clock-radio came on exactly on time. I turned it off, put my glasses on, turned to my son and said, “That’s my cue!”

It was a beautiful day today, albeit cool. My neighbour said that according to the weather channel we’re supposed to start getting warmer temperatures next week. It’s about time. Hubby says that in Ontario all the trees are in leaf. Here the buds are struggling to open, although I did notice that the lilac beside the garage has tight flower buds, which is very exciting.

Anyway, driving to the Tim’s, Buddy Boy and I carried on a sprightly (as sprightly as one can be that early on a Saturday morning) conversation, and somehow we got on the topic of old age. Oh, yes, I remember now. The block of buildings where the health food store and the Captain have their establishments has been sold and will be torn down to make a parking lot for the manoir which recently expanded, building another wing where their previous parking lot used to be. This is very sad news since Geraldine, who runs the natural foods store, has decided not to relocate in town. Where will I get my agrimony? And where will we get our pho? Maybe the Captain will find another place to continue his cuisine.

This brought us to the topic of how there are more and more old people in the population now as the baby boomers age (we’re not ready for manoirs yet, at least I’m not) and the generation before us is living longer than any previous one. I expressed my fervent hope that I never end up in a retirement home, and Buddy Boy said, “Don’t worry, Dad will look after you. If you fall down the stairs and can’t get up, he’ll say, ‘I’m coming dear, right after I finish this page!’”

Speaking of which, he has completed the first movement of a symphony to be premiered this July by the La Naudière festival, and as all musicians know, the first movement is the hardest. I’m right behind him, copying-wise, and will be caught up in a matter of hours. Then begins the proofreading. Oy. Not this again.

So, Buddy Boy was away all day and I couldn’t help imagining all sorts of scenarios which, happily, never came to pass, as he just arrived home a little while ago, sunburned, and is now watching the hockey game with his dad. Phew!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>