Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Little boy blue, come blow your whistle.

Sunday, June 5, 2005
3:51 p.m.
I would have updated this morning, but the internet was not working here at my brother-in-law�s house, and now the first of the afternoon barbecue guests have arrived (my sister-in-law�s father and brother), so I must make this snappy.

The 25th wedding anniersary party was very nice. It was held at the Aberf0yle Mill Restaurant (to which there is unfortunately no link) which is an old grist mill that has been converted into a lovely dining establishment. The guests consisted of family of both my sister-in-law and her husband and their friends, many of whom were at their wedding. It was interesting to see some photos of them as young 20-somethings and to see them now as middle-to-late 40-somethings. To my credit, my sister-in-law told me that her unmarried male friends were all giving me the eye, until they found out that the guy I was with was actually her brother and my husband.

Hubby had been requested by his sister to play for about a half hour before supper, and he brought his electric guitar and amplifier and planned to do some jazz standards, and then I would join him on vocals. While he was playing solo, one table just chattered away, loudly, totally oblivious that everyone else was listening quietly to the music. However, when I started singing Somewhere Over the Rainbow and followed it up with All of Me, they were suddenly silent. I find it very flattering, but I was still quite insulted by their rude behaviour when Hubby�s sister had really made a big deal of him before he started his set.

Dinner was very nice. Unfortunately, the vegetarian main course was lasagne with eggplant, to which I am allergic, so I made do with cheese and crackers and lots of cooked vegetables and cold salads. We were entertained after dessert by a couple of actors enacting a �murder mystery�, and several of the dinner guests were given r�les to act out. We were required to fill out a form giving our assessment of who was the murderer and how the murder was accomplished, and I got it right. Hubby had drifted off at times during the show, so he missed the important clues.

Afterwards, we adjourned to the home of friends of the anniversary couple and Hubby and his brother set up their instruments in the backyard and proceeded to play some tunes. I sang Summertime to much acclaim, then the guys launched into a rousing rendition of Suzy Q, after which two of the boys in blue showed up with a warning that we were contravening a noise ordinance. It was 12:30 a.m. So we moved the party indoors to the playroom downstairs, and carried on with more playing and singing. We got back to Cambridge at 3:30 and thankfully got to sleep in this morning.

I just got back from a shopping trip to St. Jacobs with my sister-in-law and niece where I purchased a lovely pottery berry bowl (the kind with perforations) as a wedding present for my second cousin, once removed, in July. It�s Mennonite country, and the crafts are amazing. There�s also great boutique shopping and I saw the most gorgeous evening gown that I would have tried on if I hadn�t been looking for wedding presents instead. The drive there reminded me of when we lived in the area (in Waterloo from 1986-7 when Hubby had a sabbatical-leave appointment at WLU. Many of the farms are still run by old-style Mennonites and the electric power lines totally bypass them. There was evidence of the passage of horse-drawn buggies on the shoulders of the road, although we didn�t actually see any, possibly because it�s Sunday.

Hubby joined his brother�s band for a practice this afternoon and they�re not back yet, but as I�ve been typing this the oldest brother of the bunch and his wife arrived, so I really should pack this in and put my party manners back on.

There won�t be any updates for a few days since my mother is internetless, so I�m sure I�ll have much to report when I do check back in.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>