Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Farewell for a while, dear readers.

Saturday, Jul. 5, 2008
8:55 p.m.
It is the eve of another journey, another early rising, another drive to the airport to catch a plane, this time to Canada’s half-time zone, you know which one I mean: “... and one half-hour later in Newfoundland.” My husband’s piece for flute, cello and harpsichord is being premiered at the S0und Symp0sium in that maritime province, and the opportunity to have a bit of a holiday was too good to pass up. Little Princess will be joining her father and me, so it will be a little bit like last summer’s road to the isles that we took with her brother.

Different child; different isle.

Nonetheless, this break comes at a good time. We are all rather upset about the changes to be in my ancestral home and I personally need to “get away from it all,” so to speak, and just clear my mind of the stuff that has been clogging it up lately. There is no better place on earth to do this than the Rock, as Nfld. is called. After the premiere we are renting a car and driving for a few days to Gr0s M0rne national park, a place of unsurpassed beauty. As we speak I am charging the batteries in my camera and plan on taking lots and lots of pictures.

Unfortunately, air travel within Canada is horrendously expensive. It costs less to fly to the UK than Canada’s ocean playground. In order to get a half-decent price, we have a seven-hour stopover in Halifax. This is preposterous! What the hell are we going to do in Halifax airport for seven hours?

On the way back, we fly through Toronto, and this presents another opportunity. My brother will still be there until the end of the following week, so Little Princess and I are getting off there, leaving Hubby to continue home and collect the luggage from the carousel all by himself, packing careful carryon bags (which means leaving my Swiss army knife behind - Boo hoo!) so we can spend several days chez ma mère and Little Princess can check out several apartments for herself and her BF for the fall. I can start cleaning my childhood drek out from behind the neewall and meet with my brothers (if one of them is willing to actually communicate with me) about my mother’s new situation and the sale of the house.

There, that’s exactly the stuff I want to leave behind. It’s not going to happen, is it?



|

<~~~ * ~~~>