Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Mmmm....worms.....

Thursday, Jul. 5, 2007
8:37 a.m.
I have become rather remiss about regularly updating. Which is kind of weird, considering how greenteacup said that I “update like a machine.” Well, let’s just say that I used to update like a machine. I don’t know if it’s because I have nothing to say (which is unlikely) or because the computer makes my eyes hurt or this site is really not very encouraging in terms of feedback. I have to qualify that last statement because it isn’t feedback I’m really going for here, but just a place to diarize in (if there is such a verb) that is not a notebook on my dresser. I have one of those, too, but generally it accompanies me when I travel and don’t have access to a computer.

Kevin O tuned our piano yesterday. He wasn’t going to charge us for it, but we insisted on paying him, saying that either he got our money or the other guy in town who tunes pianos got it. He did take it, but with reluctance. The poor guy is extremely broke right now. He hurt himself shoveling snow in February when we had that horrendous storm that dumped yards of the stuff on the Eastern Townships. His achilles tendon simply tore right off the heel of his right foot, necessitating immediate surgery to reattach it. This was done by putting a screw into his heel since there was absolutely nothing left to sew the snapped tendon to, and he was in a cast for the requisite number of weeks, and now is walking with a cane (although he finds he can bicycle and does practically everywhere).

The fortunate thing is that he was working at the time of the accident, and so was eligible for workman’s compensation. Unfortunately, it doesn’t pay as much as he was earning at his job, and he’s broke. His girlfriend is in the next province over having back surgery today (she’s been caring for her aging mother who is now in a home with alzheimers or some other kind of dementia) and he’s been extremely lonely with her gone. We’ve been treating him a lot lately (we return to the jazz festival today with him as our guest) for which he is grateful, but let’s face it: a free trip to Montreal will not pay his grocery bills or rent. So I have no problem at all with paying him to tune our piano. It needed it anyway.

So, back to the comment about the feedback, or lack of it. Maybe it’s D-land’s set up that makes leaving comments and/or notes so difficult. At Xanga, where I also have a blog, everybody has a place for comments right under the entry, whether they pay or not. They also have a guestbook linked from their page, whether they decide to activate it or not. I must admit that my guestbook there is embarrassingly empty. But I do get comments after nearly every entry. Here, even though I have linked to my guestbook, my notes page and comments on my page, very few actually use them. I’m just wondering what the difference is, not fishing for feedback, believe me.

There’s a robin chattering outside the window somewhere. It sounds like he’s describing his breakfast: I had a fresh, moist worm sautéed lightly in butter with a coating of bread crumbs. Absolutely delightful!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>