Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I love my buddies!

Tuesday, July 5, 2005
7:09 p.m.
May I say at the outset that I have the best buddies in the world? You guys seriously rock. Thank you so much for your caring notes, they have made me feel truly loved.

There is nothing new on the subject under discussion yesterday except that I have been limiting my internet time and the score is half recopied. I have decided to try to forget about the bad evaluation comments. I know this student, I know that she�s a complainer, and when I read them, I can hear her voice saying them not necessarily about me, but about half a dozen profs she�s had over the past four years who have somehow come up short by her standards. One of the comments was that I make her feel stupid when she can�t get something right. Well, it is not I who make her feel stupid. I have never ridiculed her or belittled her or said anything that would make her think I thought she was stupid. That is her interpretation of the situation and her projection of her own inadequacies onto me, the teacher. So, I will relax, take a deep breath, and get on with my life.

It rained most of today, letting up enough so that Hubby could play a game of doubles at noon. I picked Little Princess and the singer in her band up from the bus station when they arrived home from a weekend of travelling to points west. They left on Thursday night on the midnight train to Cornwall
to visit a friend in that great metropolis (and discovered that it is one of the armpits of Ontario). They then continued on to Toronto where they visited with a friend of the singer�s, the three of them having supper with my mother on Sunday (she was absolutely delighted by her visitors), and then took the bus to Montreal yesterday, missing the last ride to Sh�brooke, and ended up staying overnight at the singer�s sister�s place.

Little Princess prevailed on me to give her a ride to the university so she could go to work (as a research assistant to the astro-physics prof, have I mentioned this before?) and I took the opportunity to go to the bookstore and prepay my copy of the newest Harry P0tter book, which is coming out when I will be away at the wedding. I have effectively saved half the price by doing it this way, and assured myself a copy.

Now it�s back to work for a few more hours. Tomorrow Hubby and I go to Montreal to spend the day, have lunch with some friends, shop, and see Grandpa Mike at the Jazz Festival. I�m looking forward to this. In all the years that we have lived here, this is the first time we are attending this event.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>