Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

To sleep, perchance to dream...

Tuesday, Jan. 5, 2010
8:02 p.m.
I woke up before the alarm this morning from a very strange dream. I can’t remember all the details, but I rarely remember my dreams, so the fact I have any of it at all is notable.

I dreamt that Hubby and I entered the house from the garage after turning off the alarm system. Everything seemed to be in order, but there was something wrong. All his guitars, which I complained about in yesterday’s post, were not in their cases, but were on guitar stands in the living room where anyone could simply pick them up and play them. As we walked into the dining room, I realized that the window facing north-west was wide open, and I mean open wider than is possible in the waking world. Rain was pouring in at about a 33° angle, the floor was slippery with water, but the guitars were untouched. We had to struggle across the room with the wind blowing, the plants impeding our progress, to close the window. Nothing appeared to be taken or damaged; the alarm system didn’t give any indication of a breach. It was all a mystery. We surely would not have gone out without closing the window.

I woke up at this point, breathing heavily, totally confused and a little anxious. Our house has never been broken into, but once, when we lived in Ann Arbor, our brand-new Honda had its rear door jimmied and the expensive stereo we had just purchased was in pieces and partially removed from the dashboard. Because it was a new car, we had been parking it away from the rest of the traffic in an attempt to keep the doors from getting dinged. Unbeknownst to the would-be thief, the radio was bolted in place and could only be removed by a qualified technician. He must have spooked when a security car drove by and taken off without the prize. After that we parked next to all the other cars and suffered dings in our doors, as well as our dignity.

I remember the feeling of opening the car door and seeing our radio in pieces on the floor. There was a feeling of violation and betrayal. I had a bit of that from this dream this morning. Very strange. I wonder what it means, if anything?



|

<~~~ * ~~~>