Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Who�s your grammar?

Monday, Dec. 5, 2005
10:27 p.m.
You know it�s Monday when your buddy list is all lit up after a weekend of darkness. Today did not feel like a Monday, though, since classes are officially over except for those profs who wanted to make up the ones missed when the campus flooded. Speaking of the flood, the part-time students� association publication had photos of the flood in it, thanking a particular student for bringing them in, when they were lifted off my daughter�s blog without acknowledgement. How�s about them apples?

Anyway, there was no Latin class this morning, but Patsy had said that she would collect rough drafts of the grammars we are putting together before they�re due in order to set us on the straight and narrow, in case we aren�t already on it, and lo! she wasn�t in her office. So I had a bowl of soup instead, then went to teach my two baritones, who were both late, both having partied a little too hardy at the apr�s-choir concert reception last night, but one of them has his jury tomorrow, so at least he was a little more prudent than the other, who doesn�t. I got an hour�s nap before bellydancing, which was good (not really an hour, because I don�t fall asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow) and actually enjoyed myself for a change. I think my maya deux is improving. At least, I�m no longer staring at myself in the mirror asking what the hell I�m trying to do.

There was a rehearsal at Vlad�s tonight as we read through the music we�ll be performing at the Upland�s annual pre-Christmas concert. I wasn�t really all that with it, considering my throat was starting to ache again. But it�ll be fine. She actually gave me a solo to do, after taking all the other solos and soprano one parts for herself. I shan�t complain�much. I�m still wondering why I do this.

Okay, I�ve had a shot of rum, dark rum, since there�s no whiskey in the house, and I�m typing on a French keyboard, which is driving me crazy, and I think it�s time to pack it in. Now where did I put that suitcase?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>