Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Ding dong merrily on high!

Sunday, Dec. 5, 2004
10:49 p.m.
As I left the house this afternoon for an UpIands rehearsal at Vlad�s, I noticed that our poor Volvo had been adorned with a parking ticket. Of all things! Hubby was livid. Fortunately, he was able to get the car started after it had been plugged in all night, and returned the videos (they waived the late fee because he explained his car troubles), gave the car a good run, and then promptly plugged it back in when he got home. It is like an old dog now, wanting to sit by the warm fire. Sadly, it is the new car which gets the comfortable spot in the heated garage. But that�s the way the carriage rusts.

Tonight I attended the annual carol service in St. Mark�s chapel. My senior student conducts the choir and does a very fine job. I find that up to this point, I would be quite content if the whole holiday season were quietly erased from the calendar. But after the carol service I am fortified for the month ahead and actually look forward to it. Music is powerful medicine. Elizabeth invited me to the reception afterwards in the principal�s dining room and I got to shmooze with her parents and the parents of another of my students who sings in the choir, several of my colleagues and other students, as well as have some refreshments. It was very nice.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>