Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Summer wanes as September waxes.

Friday, Sept. 4, 2009
11:44 p.m.
It’s September, fall is in the air, students are returning to school and this is when our calendar year really seems to start. The summer months are a hiatus from the real world, the academic year being the one in whose terms I think.

Vlad called me this afternoon to invite me to a coffee and dessert gathering to wish a recently-graduated student bon voyage as she heads off to do further studies. This is the girl from the fundamentalist Christian background who defied her parents’ will and left their home so that she could study music full time. Her foster family hosted the party, which turned out to be a surprise, and Hubby and I arrived in time for some dynamite pastries, fresh fruit, and strong tea. It was lovely.

On the way home, we stopped at the supermarket to pick up a few odds and sods, gastronomically speaking, and I bumped into a girl who took voice with me last year as a non-music student. She wants to re-up and continue her tutelage. I’m thrilled. That makes one returning student. We shall see about the rest.

The weather has been glorious and I have been stuck at this computer copying the score for Hubby’s most recent orchestra piece. This is my own fault. I should just get up and go for a walk. But I don’t. Instead I play spider solitaire, chat online with my imaginary (and not-so-imaginary) friends, and gaze out the window at the blue sky. The snow will be flying soon and I’ll wish I had taken advantage of this last bit of warmth and sunshine.

I have decided not to take Spanish this year. Instead I will try to put all my teaching in the middle of the week and work it so that I can take long weekends once a month to go see my mother. She called me again today, bored and lonely, and even though my visits to her are forgotten soon after they occur, for the time that I’m with her, she is content. I owe her that much. It also gives me an excuse to see Little Princess and Buddy Boy more often as well.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>