Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The speed freak strikes again.

Saturday, Nov. 4, 2006
11:46 a.m.
Our guests are gone and, yes, the bed did break, but not until last night. Meg was rather sheepish about it, saying she rolled over and heard a crack. We reassured her that it wasn’t her fault and apologized mightily for not having replaced or properly repaired it before they came. It wasn’t a terrible thing though; they managed to get it back on the frame and had no further mishaps the rest of the night. But we have another guest coming in two weeks’ time, and had better buy a new box spring before then.

The concert was interesting, all contemporary using electronic sounds and/or tape and/or electroacoustic feedback. After the reception in the lobby, we took the artists and our kids and two students out for a meal to our favourite Italian restaurant and I had a beautifully arranged appetizer consisting of warmed goat cheese on a crouton with sliced pears and hazlenuts and a little salad and something sweet that I couldn’t identify. It was quite nice.

Little Princess was off very early this morning on a joint religion/classics/fine arts trip to see a museum exhibit about Petra, and then ended up phoning home as the bus never arrived and she wanted a ride home, which I could not provide as I was still in my bathrobe. So she and her BF walked instead.

After our guests left, and Hubby went off to a rehearsal with his harpsichordist, I drove Buddy Boy to his band practice in C0atic00k, only to get a speeding ticket on my way home, just barely turning onto the main road from his friend’s street. It was a 50 km/h zone and I was zooming along at 82 km/h when I spotted the cop on the side of the road. Unfortunately, he spotted me first, and now I have a ticket for a rather hefty fine. Drat. It doesn’t say anywhere on the ticket about demerit points, so hopefully I didn’t manage to get any. The father of the friend at whose house the practice was actually asked me to stay for a cup of coffee, which I refused, citing the need to get home and do laundry, and now I’m thinking that if I had accepted, I would have missed that particular cop. Sigh.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>