Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Dopier, dizzier, and sweatier.

Monday, Jun. 4, 2007
9:22 p.m.
My comments are working, everyone. I don’t understand why some people are having trouble leaving me messages, because I end up getting them twice, once in my comments and once in my notes when they’ve given up and posted them there instead.

Tonight we had our last belly dancing class of the season and we ran through our dance for Saturday’s spectacle about ten times. It’s a very energetic dance and it was very hot and I was getting dopier and dopier as we did it, not to mention dizzier and dizzier because there’s one spot were we spin around four times. I’m just not very good at maintaining my equilibrium. Also, my feet were getting sweatier and sweatier and sticking to the floor, making it difficult to pivot and step gracefully. Bugger. But we worked out some last minute bugs.

On my way home I stopped by Patsy’s to drop off her ticket for the show and of course had to stay a while to chat. I’ll be seeing her tomorrow at writing group and maybe at the professors and staff association party to honour retirees. There’s also a party for the purpose on Thursday, but that’s being thrown by the principal, who is not very popular with the associations at the moment, considering he’s being an ass when it comes to negotiations for the new collective agreements. People will boycott that reception on principle but will come to the one put on by the association itself.

Apart from all that, it’s pouring rain, a nice, warm spring rain. I got wet when I stopped to buy groceries and, since Buddy Boy hasn’t finished cleaning out the garage yet, I got wet when I parked in the driveway and brought the groceries into the house. I wouldn’t mind if he got that job done soon.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>