Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Safe arrival in Hespeler

Saturday, June 4, 2005
1:33 p.m.
I am, in fact, seated at a computer at my brother-in-law�s place in Cambridge. See, I knew I wouldn�t be able to resist the siren call.

We arrived here at dinnertime last night, after being on the road for approximately 8.5 hours (I only drove for 2.5 of them), listening to blues and King Crimson most of the way. We stopped once for lunch in Dorion and once again for gas at Gananoque (don�t you love that name?) for a total of a half-hour�s respite from the constant motion of the road.

The car has been smelling rather funky lately; we thought it was because it had absorbed some of the odour of the fermenting grass clippings underneath the mower. However, when I opened the compartment where we were storing the CD jewelboxes, the smell was extremely strong and, upon inspection, I found that the plastic cap on the tube of timberline green touch-up paint for our car had broken and the vile-smelling stuff was oozing into the compartment. Luckily only a few pens in the bottom were affected and I managed to clean up the mess with napkins left over from our Tim H0rton�s lunch stop and put the guilty party in the plastic bag which had heretofore held English mints. The car still smells though.

My sister-in-law prepared a fabulous meal for us and I got rather inebriated rather quickly on a chocolate martini followed by a glass of very good red wine. Their 5-year-old granddaughter joined us for supper and was very well behaved. She had been warned that her great-aunt Elgan (can you believe I�m a great-aunt?) stood for no nonsense, which I think scared the bejeebers out of her.

Afterwards, my sister-in-law�s sister and her husband came over, which involved more drinking (I stuck to plain water this time) and Hubby pulled out the Les Paul and his brother got out his bass. I joined them for some jazz tunes before heading upstairs where I inserted earplugs in my ears and tried to fall asleep.

Hubby and I had the house to ourselves this morning while his relatives took their granddaughter to a forklift rodeo (?). We took advantage of their absence before going to the mall to find an anniversary present for his sister. It�s going to be a very busy weekend: fancy party this evening, looser party tonight at the friends� where the anniversary couple are staying (they want Hubby and his brother to bring their instruments), then a big barbecue for the family at the Cambridge relatives tomorrow. I think I will have had my fill of socializing by then. Let�s hope I can keep my party manners in place that long.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>