Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Absinthe makes the wallet grow thinner.

Tuesday, July 4, 2006
4:29 p.m.
Memo to self:

In Butterick, Simplicity and McCall's patterns, you take a size 10. In Vogue, you wear a size 12. DON'T FORGET IT!

Yes folks, right after my husband expressed his amazement that I could make a garment and it would fit me properly, and after I explained that I merely choose the correct pattern size and then follow the directions, I tried on the dress I am sewing and the zipper would not meet in the back. You've got it, it's a Vogue and I cut out the size 10 dress because that's what I take with all those other pattern companies. MISTAKE! Luckily I was able to let out the side seams in the bodice (by one and-a-half inches, leaving me hardly any seam allowance at all) and it looks fine now. Phew!

The weather, if I use reverse pathetic fallacy, is bi-polar today. It started out raining, got warm and sunny, and now it's overcast and I hear thunder. There is no rhyme or reason to any of this. Somewhere in the world there is drought while we are suffering from overhydration.

I went to the SAQ thinking I would buy a bottle of absinthe to take with me to the U.S. when I visit j-leem next weekend and ended up not getting any because the really good stuff was over $90. Mind you, it was also 90% alcohol per volume. But still. I got her something else instead, something made locally which will be just as enjoyable.

It's amazing how, when you keep yourself busy at a mind-numbing task, like sewing, you have absolutely nothing interesting to write in your diary.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>