Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

There were shepherds abiding in their fields...

Tuesday, Dec. 4, 2007
1:42 p.m.
It’s one of those days where the sky is the same colour as the ground, except now that I look outside my window, the fallen snow is actually a brighter white than the clouds above. But when I was out in the car earlier, with the snow falling and melting on my windshield, the only thing that separated heaven and earth was the skyline of city buildings, brown and dull-coloured against the ivory backdrop, fading into invisibility in the distance as the falling flakes obscured them.

The cartoucherie, which assured me that my cyan would be in stock yesterday, informed me when I got there that both packages had been sold. I nearly cried at the unfairness of it all, driving out there in terrible weather on slippery roads only to be met by frustration. (I could not find the right word just now as I was writing this for “cheated” and could only think of the French trompé, forcing me to resort to the French/English dictionary. How lame is that?)

The health-food store did not have the tofu I like to get. The pharmacy seems to have stopped stocking the hair colour I prefer. I got home to a message on the answering machine that Buddy Boy missed his early bus and will be arriving later than expected tonight. It is becoming a day fraught with disappointments.

We have our dress rehearsal for Messiah tonight. I’m bored already.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>