Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Achieved is the glorious work!

Monday, Dec. 5, 2005
12:08 a.m.
Just when I thought I had avoided the illness that was laying all my students and many choir members low, it hit me today with a sore throat and stiff neck. After working on my Latin grammar assignment, I had a few good belts of dark rum and headed off to bed for a long nap, followed by a spaghetti supper and an early arrival at the music department for the second choir concert.

The audience was of a much better calibre tonight. Friday night�s crowd clapped after every movement of the Haydn, while tonight�s waited until the final �amen� before bursting into thunderous applause. Some things went better, some worse. There was no air conditioning on and I was schvitzing like the proverbial pig, feeling a little faint at times, relying on the extra-strength acetaminophen I had taken earlier to keep me from collapsing in pain. The second half went well enough. We got a standing ovation, which is rather gratifying, even if the audience was mostly friends and family.

The party at Fanny�s afterwards would have been a lot of fun if I had been feeling better. She and her sister had made all sorts of delicious food, including sushi, but I just wasn�t feeling well enough to really enjoy myself, so we left early. Now I�m going to bed. Tomorrow is Monday, after all.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>